top of page
  • Writer's pictureasliceoflifebydeanesse

5 Tips for Starting a Successful Business as a Married Couple | [a Slice of Life by Deanesse]

Starting a business may seem exciting and glamorous from the outside, but it's not all sunshine and rainbows. It is one of the most challenging things you can do in life. However, my husband and I are grateful for being chosen as stewards of God's gifts in life. By the grace of God, we were able to start not just one, but two businesses.


I've learned a lot from our journey, and I want to share some of those learnings with you.


1. It's essential to know how to do the main job of the business. If you're opening a restaurant, for example, you need to be a good cook or food connoisseur, so you're not dependent on anyone else. You can also set the standard of how things should be done because you know how to do them.


2. JUST DO IT. Stop learning or reading about how to do it. This is something I learned from my husband. Even if you're not sure, start, and you'll learn as you go. You can read later on while you are actually doing it.


3. Stop micromanaging. As a cook, I always wanted to be involved in making the dishes, but I realized that my time could be spent more wisely on management and marketing.


4. Don't be too attached to anyone. Your staff may come and go, and their path may not be with you. Based on our experience, God will always provide a better one.


If you're married and doing business together, always remember to be humble and be dependent on your partner. Based on experience, God may be speaking to you through your partner. Don’t decide alone. Do it together.


5. Always do your best, and God will take care of the rest. This is a common piece of advice, but it's the hardest for me, as I'm always looking for ways to improve non-stop, and this puts too much pressure on me. But my husband reminds me that if God has given us something, he will surely bless it.





I have many more lessons to share, but I'll save them for another time.


I want to thank God for my husband Dean Yu, who has been my personal mentor throughout this journey.

149 views0 comments
bottom of page